Janelle Monáe

Name: Janelle Monáe ( Janelle Monáe Robinson )
Born: December 01, 1985
Age: 38 years old
Height: 4 Feet 12 Inches
Occupation: singer, songwriter, rapper, actress, record producer
Relationship Status: not married
More info: show
  • Horoscope: Sagittarius
  • Net worth: $12 000 000
  • Ethnicity: African-American
  • Nationality: American
  • Fathers name: Michael Robinson Summers
  • Mothers name: Janet
  • Education: F. L. Schlagle High School; American Musical and Dramatic Academy
  • Weight: 52.0
  • Hair color: Black
  • Eye color: Black
    0.0/5 (0 votes)

    Janelle Monáe: biography

    Janelle Monáe is an American singer, songwriter, rapper, actress, and record producer. She is known for her unique style of music, which combines elements of funk, soul, hip hop, and electronic music.

    Childhood and youth

    Janelle Monáe was born on December 1, 1985, in Kansas City, Kansas. She grew up in a working-class family, and her parents divorced when she was a young child. Monáe's mother worked as a janitor, and her father was a garbage truck driver.

    As a child, Monáe was interested in music and performed in her church choir. She attended F.L. Schlagle High School in Kansas City, where she was a member of the school's debate team and was also involved in musical theater. Monáe went on to attend the American Musical and Dramatic Academy in New York City, but dropped out after a year due to financial constraints.

    After leaving school, Monáe moved to Atlanta, Georgia, where she worked odd jobs and performed music in local clubs. She was discovered by Outkast's Big Boi, who introduced her to producer Sean Combs. Monáe signed with Combs' Bad Boy Records and released her first solo album, "Metropolis: Suite I (The Chase)," in 2007.

    Monáe's unique style and sound quickly gained attention, and she went on to release several critically acclaimed albums. She has also become known for her distinctive fashion sense, often wearing black and white tuxedos and other gender-defying outfits.

    Music career

    Janelle Monáe began her music career in 2007 with the release of her first solo album, "Metropolis: Suite I (The Chase)," which was a concept album set in a dystopian future. The album received critical acclaim and caught the attention of Outkast's Big Boi, who invited her to collaborate on his album "Sir Lucious Left Foot: The Son of Chico Dusty." Monáe also signed with Sean Combs' Bad Boy Records and released her second album, "The ArchAndroid," in 2010.

    "The ArchAndroid" continued the storyline from Monáe's first album and was hailed as a masterpiece by critics. The album's eclectic mix of genres, including funk, soul, hip hop, and classical music, showcased Monáe's range as an artist. The album spawned several hit singles, including "Tightrope" and "Cold War."

    In 2013, Monáe released her third album, "The Electric Lady," which featured collaborations with Prince, Erykah Badu, and Solange Knowles. The album continued Monáe's themes of female empowerment and social justice and received positive reviews from critics. Monáe also made her acting debut in the film "Moonlight" in 2016, which went on to win the Academy Award for Best Picture.

    Janelle Monáe
    Janelle Monáe / Instagram

    Monáe's fourth album, "Dirty Computer," was released in 2018 and was accompanied by a short film of the same name. The album was a departure from Monáe's earlier concept albums and focused on themes of sexuality, identity, and self-expression. The album received critical acclaim and was nominated for Album of the Year at the Grammy Awards.

    Janelle Monáe has been branching out beyond music and making a name for herself in literature and acting. In April 2022, Harper Voyager published her debut book, "The Memory Librarian: And Other Stories of Dirty Computer". The book explores themes of queerness, race, gender plurality, love, memory, and time in a totalitarian landscape, highlighting the costs of trying to unravel and weave them into freedoms.

    Monáe is also set to star as Josephine Baker in the upcoming TV series "De La Resistance", according to a report by Deadline in May 2022.

    Additionally, Monáe has new music on the horizon, as confirmed by Atlantic Records' CEO Craig Kallman in a December 2022 interview with Variety. On February 16, 2023, Monáe released a new single titled "Float", featuring horns by Seun Kuti and his band, Egypt 80. Monáe announced on May 11 that her highly anticipated album, "The Age of Pleasure", is set to be released on June 9. Fans are eagerly anticipating what promises to be another exciting chapter in Monáe's career.

    Personal life

    Janelle Monáe is known for being private about her personal life, but she has been open about her sexuality and her struggles with mental health.

    In a 2018 interview with Rolling Stone, Monáe revealed that she identifies as pansexual, meaning that she is attracted to people regardless of their gender identity. She has used her platform to advocate for LGBTQ+ rights and has been involved in several campaigns to promote equality.

    Janelle Monáe has been romantically linked to several people throughout her career. In 2015, she was reportedly in a relationship with Formula One racer Lewis Hamilton. In 2018, Monáe sparked rumors of a romance with actress Tessa Thompson. More recently, in 2021, Monáe was rumored to be in a relationship with musician Nate 'Rocket' Wonder.

    Monáe has also been open about her struggles with anxiety and depression. In an interview with The Guardian, she talked about how she has dealt with mental health challenges throughout her life, and how she has found ways to cope with them through therapy and self-care.

    Despite her challenges, Monáe remains committed to using her platform to make a positive impact in the world. She has been involved in several philanthropic initiatives and has used her music and activism to promote social justice and equality.


    Here is a list of Janelle Monáe's studio albums and major releases:

    • "Metropolis: Suite I (The Chase)" (2007)
    • "The ArchAndroid" (2010)
    • "The Electric Lady" (2013)
    • "Dirty Computer" (2018)
    • "The Age of Pleasure" (2023)


    • Rio 2 (2014)
    • Moonlight (2016)
    • Hidden Figures (2016)
    • Dirty Computer (2018)
    • Welcome to Marwen (2018)
    • UglyDolls (2019)
    • Harriet (2019)
    • Lady and the Tramp (2019)
    • Antebellum (2020)
    • Homecoming (2020)
    • The Glorias (2020)
    • Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery (2023)


    Janelle Monáe has won numerous awards and accolades throughout her career. Here is a list of some of her major awards:

    • Billboard Women in Music Trailblazer Award (2015)
    • Black Reel Award for Outstanding Ensemble (for "Hidden Figures") (2017)
    • Screen Actors Guild Award for Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture (for "Hidden Figures") (2017)
    • BET Award for Best Actress (for "Hidden Figures") (2017)
    • NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture (for "Hidden Figures") (2017)
    • Webby Award for Best Music Video (for "PYNK") (2019)
    • GLAAD Media Award for Outstanding Music Artist (2019)
    • Smithsonian Magazine American Ingenuity Award for Performing Arts (2020)

    Other Celebrities